Banana Bread with coconut flour (gluten-free)

Someone we know recently passed this recipe on to us and it is delightful.  It doesn’t have a lot of ingredients and you may feel like it isn’t enough for a loaf, but it is.  Enjoy this gluten-free, no sugar added recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 3 bananas (mashed)
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (melted)
  • 3-4 tbsp raw cocoa nibs (Planet Organic, I used an 85% dark chocolate bar and just chopped it into pieces)
  • 2 tbsp crushed walnuts
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • dash of cinnamon (I always use more cinnamon than they recommend, I used about 1 tbsp and a pinch of nutmeg too)

Directions:

  1. Blend eggs, mashed bananas, honey and coconut oil together.
  2. Mix the dry ingredients and then combine with wet ingredients.
  3. Pour into greased bread pan and bake at 350F for 45 minutes, or until you can insert a toothpick and it comes out clean.

 

 

12 thoughts on “Banana Bread with coconut flour (gluten-free)

  1. It turned out very dry, crumbly and too salty! This is the second time I experimented with coconut flour and in my opinion it always requires more ‘liquids’ than called for. It went straight to green recycling bin! Very disappointing.

    • Hi,
      Sorry to hear about your disappointing result with this recipe. The link below describes a little bit about the nature of coconut flour and might explain why this happened. It may have been that your bananas needed to be a little more ripe? Difficult to know for sure but as the link explains, it is a dry flour that soaks up liquids and very little is needed in the recipes compatred to other flours. http://www.elanaspantry.com/ingredients/coconut-flour/ Hope this helps!

  2. Yes – I just made these too and they were way too dry. I even added an extra egg AND banana and they still were too dry. There was no “pouring”. They are cooking now but I anticipate them not being edible or more cookie like (as I had to “drop” them on a cookie sheet so as not to waste the ingredients). Maybe recommend that you change the recipe and say to add the salt and baking soda to the wet ingredients and then slowly fold in the flour until is is runny batter. Just a thought! Thanks for the inspiration nonetheless. My two daughters are just happy to get to bake with me this morning.

  3. Interesting comments about it being dry… I have to say, I just tried my first one, the dough was not your ‘usual’ banana bread dough, it was indeed kind of ‘dry’ and the bread itself also doesn’t look like a loaf at all. That being said though, it does taste great! My husband said the house smells like xmas, lol, probably because of the cinnamon and the nutmeg. It’s YUMMY!!!!

  4. Pingback: Loving Lately: Grain-Free Banana Chocolate Chunk Bread « The Healthy Hipster

  5. I added half raw honey, half agave, to = 1/4 cup. I didn’t use the cacao nibs and added more diced walnuts and more cinnamon and nutmeg and it turned out great! I also put parchment paper in the pan. It isn’t too sweet, it tastes natural and wholesome, just like I like it!
    PS: you don’t want to mix the bread very well or it will be tough and gluey.

Leave a Reply

